Sustainability at UZH

Sustainable development signifies a development that "meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their needs." This fundamental definition, originally formulated by the UN World Commission on Environment and Development (Brundtland Report), represents a combined approach to achieving social justice: Considering our duty to humans today as well as our responsibility to future generations.

Although the University of Zurich already contributes to a both regional and global sustainable development through its research und teaching, our University is committed to systematically expanding its efforts. This includes strengthening interdisciplinary and cross-faculty collaboration as well as supporting projects with external partners.

In addition, the University of Zurich strives to promote sustainable procurements, foster efficient energy consumption, and take other steps toward achieving a sustainable campus in order to reduce the environmental impact of its operations – and contributes to the quality of life in Zurich.

The Sustainability Team at the University of Zurich supports existing activities surrounding sustainability in research, teaching, and daily operations. It coordinates implementation of various measures and fosters communication between all members of the UZH community who are working toward sustainability.

Nachhaltigkeit an der UZH

Nachhaltige Entwicklung ist eine Entwicklung, welche die Bedürfnisse der Gegenwart befriedigt, ohne zu riskieren, dass zukünftige Generationen ihre Bedürfnisse nicht befriedigen können. Mit dieser ursprünglich von der Weltkommission für Umwelt und Entwicklung ("Brundtland-Kommission") formulierten Definition ist eine zweifache Forderung nach sozialer Gerechtigkeit angesprochen: Gerechtigkeit unter den heute lebenden Menschen und Gerechtigkeit gegenüber künftigen Generationen.

Die Universität Zürich leistet durch ihre Forschung und Lehre einen Beitrag zu einer regionalen und globalen nachhaltigen Entwicklung und hat sich das Ziel gesetzt, diesen Beitrag systematisch auszubauen. Hierbei spielt die verstärkte Zusammenarbeit über Fakultätsgrenzen hinweg und mit externen Akteuren eine Schlüsselrolle.

Zugleich ist die Universität Zürich bestrebt, durch nachhaltige Beschaffung, sparsame Energienutzung und weitere Schritte in Richtung eines nachhaltigen Campus negative Auswirkungen ihres Betriebs auf die Umwelt zu minimieren und zur Lebensqualität am Standort Zürich beizutragen.

Das Nachhaltigkeitsteam der Universität Zürich unterstützt bestehende Aktivitäten zu Nachhaltigkeit in Forschung, Lehre und Betrieb, koordiniert die Umsetzung von Massnahmen und fördert die Vernetzung aller Universitätsangehörigen, die sich für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung engagieren.