Implementation of the Sustainability Policy

On 5 February 2019, the Extended Executive Board of UZH adopted the Sustainability Policy, which was developed by the UZH Sustainability Commission. With the Sustainability Policy, UZH commits to its responsibility for sustainable development. 

The implementation of the Sustainability Policy, which shall take place by 2030, builds on three pillars:

  1. The "Umsetzungsstrategie 2030 zur Sustainability Policy" (Implementation Strategy 2030 for the Sustainability Policy, only available in German) which came into force in November 2020. The strategy defines targets for teaching, research and university operations of UZH, including climate neutrality by 2030.  
    Umsetzungsstrategie 2030 zur Sustainability Policy (PDF, 228 KB)
  2. Initiatives in organizational units. Sustainability-related working groups exist in several organizational units. They reflect the specific perspectives of the respective discipline and organizational possibilities of the respective unit. 
    Initiatives in Organizational Units
  3. The engagement of many individuals, ranging from students, staff of the Central Services and scientific staff to members of the Executive Board. Check the following links to find ideas for personal engagement.
    Help Make UZH Sustainable
    Factsheets und Guidelines
    Initiatives and Networks

Umsetzung der Sustainability Policy

Sustainability Policy der UZH

Die von der UZH Kommission für Nachhaltigkeit erarbeitete Sustainability Policy wurde am 05. Februar 2019 von der Erweiterten Universitätsleitung angenommen. Mit der Sustainability Policy bekennt sich die UZH zu ihrer Verantwortung für nachhaltige Entwicklung. 

Umsetzung

Die Umsetzung der Sustainability Policy, die bis zum Jahr 2030 erfolgen soll, stützt sich auf drei Pfeiler:

  1. Die Umsetzungsstrategie 2030 zur Sustainability Policy, die seit November 2020 in Kraft ist. Sie definiert Ziele für Forschung, Lehre und den operativen Betrieb der UZH, unter anderem die Klimaneutralität der UZH bis 2030. 
    Umsetzungsstrategie 2030 zur Sustainability Policy (PDF, 228 KB)
  2. Initiativen einzelner Organisationseinheiten. In mehreren Organisationseinheiten gibt es Arbeitsgruppen zu Nachhaltigkeitsthemen, die die spezifischen fachlichen Perspektiven und organisatorischen Möglichkeiten der eigenen Einheit widerspiegeln.
    Initiativen in Organisationseinheiten
  3. Das freiwilige Engagement vieler Einzelpersonen, von Studierenden über die Mitarbeitenden der Zentralen Dienste und das wissenschaftliche Personal bis zur Universitätsleitung. Anregungen für persönliches Engagement finden Sie unter diesen Links:
    Was kann ich tun?
    Factsheets und Empfehlungen
    Initiativen und Netzwerke